10/7/20 – Error

After visiting “Katheryne,” the Nurse Joy/Officer Jenny-like guild coordinator of both major cities currently accessible in Genshin Impact, I noticed that the Liyue Katheryne has a miscellaneous line (as many npcs do) that the Mondstat Katheryne does not:

I might have thought it, as she attempts to claim, to be an error in retrieving the line she’s supposed to say there… until I noticed that it has a corresponding voice line that reads “…Error…” in a somewhat monotone delivery (hard to tell from a short, single word line).

Naturally, this got me thinking, though up to where I am, there’s no evidence to substantiate any theories, the privilege of an artist/creator is to be able to explore and expand upon any idea I might fancy.


I tried to make Liyue Katheryne’s “under-face” look mechanical/robotic, but I didn’t really research, plan or ultimately execute on a good way of doing that so it kinda looks… otherwise alien or whathave you. bleh. Didn’t do myself any favors by making it an inktober drawing either, where I’m stuck with physical media, bad at spacing out my drawings so that I have enough room to accurately and clearly render what I want, and can’t undo or erase ink once it’s set to paper. I also failed to make them the same size, now that I step back and look again, something that the wiring makes harder to correct believably even in post production. Ultimately, I decided, it’s just inktober, no need to sweat it.