10/31/22 – How It Began (but actually not really)

No, this is not the canon to how Ruyano came about. Ikino, Ruyano, and Merorin are all my OCs

There was more I could have done with this – I had decided I had wanted to do this for the last day even before the beginning of Suitober, but keeping up with my patreon obligations on top of daily drawings and other life stuff meant that while I had planned to start working on it right at the start of the month, I instead started working on it in the last week, and did the bulk of the work in the last 48 hours. Which means I didn’t have the time or energy to do as much as I might have been able to if it had had my sole attention and time. Still, I can’t say I’m unhappy with how it came out in the end.

Full disclosure, I did trace a bunch of key bodylines from Dokun27’s famous version of this meme, mostly for time efficiency. I especially wanted to make sure I got the bounce like they did. I used their version to gauge frame timings, too.

I was also considering a Cassera version titled “Don’t Threaten Me with a Good Time,” where she’s happy to put on a skinsuit, but I ran into the issue of being uncertain of just what suit to put her in, and decided to stick with this version which is more self contained.

I was hoping I’d be able to get away with mirroring my frames in order to get the swing in the opposite direction, but I realized after trying it that Ruyano’s hair is asymmetric and simply mirroring makes her hair wrong. Fortunately, it was surprisingly (relatively) easy to fix and I was able to mirror most of the lineart and adjusted the hair afterwards. I should have adjusted the blush lines, too, now that I’m typing this, but that’s much less of an issue and no longer worth the effort now that I’m done.

Because of my inexperience with animation, I’m glad I opted to do the dance portion digitally. I was considering doing that traditionally as well, but lacking a light table was going to make that way harder than it needed to be, even if I had stuck to my original time table.

Could this have been more suity? Yes. It would have been nice to have a whole animation of putting on the suit before doing the dance. That also would have been several times more work than this already was. I also considered having a bouncing zipper chuck on her head, but again, I didn’t have time. Was also considering a video version with the music that’s part of the meme, too, but I don’t know my way around video editing software well enough to swing that quickly, either. That can still be done later if desired though.

Anyway, it’s been a wild Suitober as usual. The early parts were a bit easier than usual, the final stretch a bit harder. I think while most posts came more naturally to me in terms of composition and execution than last year, that was only partially cause I’ve gotten better. I also played it safer in general with a lot of days