10/4/23 – Androids

Not entirely sure if the fact that Android 21 is supposed to be puppeting Android 18 with her tail is that clear, but it is what it is, and trying to redraw the entire composition at this point is more time and effort than it’s worth. I expected 21’s hair to be more annoying than it ended up being. I didn’t exactly intend it this way, but 21’s pose also ended up being basically the same as one of her official art (I think?), so I referenced it a bit more heavily, which is probably what helped with the hair. Speaking of references, the first pic I found for 18’s hairstyle was actually mirrored so I almost drew the part on the wrong side, until I checked some other pics (unless the first one was right and all the others were mirrored). Akira Toriyama eyes are very different than what I’m used to, but fortunately, not too hard.

I don’t really know Dragon Ball as a franchise well enough to say what 21 is from more specifically. I’m pretty sure 18 is from Z, but beyond that, I dunno. As you may guess from that, this was a suggestion from Discord.